GuroWorks Japan Guide

Taxi Apps and Bike Share in Japan for Tourists

Short answer: for taxis, GO (all 47 prefectures) and Uber (Tokyo and other cities) both take international credit cards in the app. For short hops, Docomo Bike Share Tokyo costs ¥165 per 30 minutes, and LUUP e-scooters need no driver's license — but every service below needs a phone that can receive SMS.

Why this page: in the Japan Tourism Agency survey of 4,110 visitors leaving Japan (FY2025), using transport (routes, where to board) was a problem for 11.3%, and route search was the top difficulty (45%).

Taxi apps

GOUber (Taxi)S.RIDE
EnglishYes (English site and help)Yes (app in ~50 languages; chat auto-translated)Yes (set phone language to English)
Foreign cards"International credit cards and Apple Pay accepted": Visa, Mastercard, JCB, Amex, DinersCard or PayPal in the appVisa, Mastercard, JCB, Amex, Diners; debit/prepaid cards
Phone numberMobile number that can receive SMS. Non-Japanese numbers must allow location; some countries' numbers can't register from outside JapanNot stated on the pages readNot stated on the pages read
AreaAll 47 prefecturesTokyo (24/7), other citiesTokyo area (not checked in detail)
Airport—Flat fares to/from Haneda and Narita for some areas; reservation fee ¥700—

DiDi: DiDi Japan's official FAQ lists card payment but does not say whether foreign-issued cards work (not officially confirmed), so we leave it out of the table.

Bike share and e-scooters

Docomo Bike Share (Tokyo)LUUP
Price¥165 per 30 min (one-time); 1-day pass ¥1,650 (convenience store) or ¥2,200 (IC card, cash)Not stated on the pages read
NeedSmartphone that receives SMS; d ACCOUNT, Google or Apple accountPhone number, credit card; for e-scooters: age 16+, ID (overseas passport OK), pass traffic test
CardsVisa, Mastercard, JCB, Amex, Diners; debit and prepaid OKCredit card
EnglishEnglish siteApp in English (station names stay in Japanese)
ReturnOnly at a Bike Station; fees keep running if parked elsewhereAt a LUUP station

LUUP e-scooters: max 20 km/h, ride on the left side of the road, not on sidewalks (except marked ones in 6 km/h mode); helmets strongly recommended. HELLO CYCLING also operates in Tokyo, but we couldn't confirm foreign-number support on an official page (not officially confirmed).

Quick answers

Can tourists use the GO taxi app in Japan?

GO's official site says international credit cards and Apple Pay are accepted, and it is available in all 47 prefectures. You register with a mobile number that can receive SMS; GO says registration from outside Japan with some countries' numbers is blocked, and non-Japanese numbers must allow location to request a taxi.

Does Uber work in Tokyo?

Yes, Uber lets you request licensed local taxis in Tokyo 24/7, paid by card or PayPal in the app. Flat fares to/from Haneda and Narita exist for some areas.

Can foreigners ride LUUP e-scooters?

Yes. LUUP says no driver's license is needed; you must be 16+, register a credit card, upload an age document (overseas passports accepted) and pass a traffic-rules test with all answers correct. The app is in English.

Related: Avoid crowds · Departure day

More Japan trip guides: Japan trip checklist (all guides)

Official sources

Checked November 4, 2026 (JST). Apps, fees and rules can change; confirm on the official pages.