GuroWorks Japan Guide

Under the refund method the shop, or the refund provider it uses, pays you. So the fee, the payout method and the website you register on can differ from shop to shop. Here is what two big retailers say themselves, plus what the Japan Tourism Agency (JTA) says applies to everyone.

Fees and cash in town

ShopFee, as the shop states itCash before the airport?
Don Quijote / PPIH Group storesRefund application fee waived. Exception: the refund provider charges a fee if you take cash at the airport. PPIH says the conditions may change or end without notice.Not stated on the pages we read
Yodobashi Camera (11 stores: Shinjuku West, Ikebukuro, Akiba, Ueno, Yokohama, Umeda, Kyoto, Meitetsu Nagoya, Hakata, Sapporo, Sendai)Fee for this service: not stated on the announcement (NOT VERIFIED)Yes, if you choose cash at the counter. Credit card registration required. It also handles purchases from other Global Blue member shops.
Other shopsNot published where we looked. Ask before you pay.Ask

Which website do I register on?

Cash in town does not replace the airport

Yodobashi: even if you receive the refund in advance, you must still show your purchases and passport to customs when you leave. If you don't complete it, the money you were paid is charged to your registered card. The JTA says the customs check must be done before you check in your bags and within 90 days of purchase.

What travelers are reporting (news report, not official)

On Nov 2, 2026 Taiwan's Commercial Times reported that on the first day some travelers found an airport kiosk showing a connection error, and that Yodobashi's in-town refund system was down in places, so staff handled refunds by hand with waits of at least 30 minutes. It also reported travelers saying that card verification texts may not arrive when you are abroad, and that the card holder name must match the passport. These are second-hand reports from day one; we have not confirmed them with the shops, and things may have changed. If a kiosk fails, JTA and Customs say that at seven airports you can use Visit Japan Web instead.

Related: How and when you get the money · Registration problems and late refunds · How much you get back

Quick answers

Is there a fee to get the Japan tax refund?

It depends on the shop. Don Quijote (PPIH Group) says it does not charge a refund-application fee, except that the refund provider charges a fee if you collect cash at the airport. For other shops we could not find a published fee, so ask the cashier before you pay.

Can I get cash before I reach the airport?

Yodobashi Camera says that at 11 stores you can choose cash at its tax-free counter and get it on the spot. You must register a credit card, and if you do not complete the customs check when you leave, the advance is charged to that card.

Which website do I register my refund method on?

The one your shop tells you to use. Don Quijote says each tax-free shop may use a different refund provider, and registering on another provider's site means it cannot process your Don Quijote refund. Use the QR code on the receipt or the address the shop gives you. Don Quijote's deadline for registration is 180 days from purchase; other shops may differ.

If I take cash in town, do I still do the airport step?

Yes. Yodobashi and the Japan Tourism Agency both say the customs check at departure is still required, before you check in your bags.

Ad · Our own guide (paid)

Going through the airport kiosk? Get the step-by-step guide.

Launch offer: code NEWRULES20 = 20% off until Nov 15

Paid products by GuroWorks, the publisher of this free site. 14-day refund on Gumroad. The calculator stays free.

Sources

Checked November 4, 2026 (JST). Shops can change fees and services without notice; confirm at the counter.

New: Is it safe to enter my card? Purchase missing from registration?